Top ten BSB riders: Michael Laverty.

We at recently invited you to cast your vote for your favourite riders in this year's Bennetts British Superbikes season by rating their efforts out of ten.

Now, having crunched the numbers and tapped the calculators we are counting down the riders you believe were most deserving of your plaudits in 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November.

Almost 12,000 votes were cast on the BSB poll, with each riders average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BSB Rider of the Year – Ninth place:

Name: Michael Laverty
Team: Relentless Suzuki by TAS
Bike: Suzuki GSX-R 1000 K8
Wins: 0
Podiums: 0
Fastest laps: 0
Championship points: 141
Championship position: 9th

It is the measure of a man who can take defeat on the chin and keep on smiling. Just ask Michael Laverty…

For most, being innocently taken out of a strong second place would be disastrous. Taking a tumble from a race you could have won would certainly raise the frustration levels. Yet, while both of these occurrences befell Laverty this season, his cheery demeanour ensured that he wouldn't dwell on it.

Still, despite those incidents at Silverstone and Cadwell Park, the graduating British Supersport champion still had plenty of reasons to be happy with his 2008 season.

Aboard the solid Relentless Suzuki, he joined Simon Andrews in sitting on the cusp of the leading riders and occasionally getting amongst them to shake up the order.

Indeed, three top five finishes in the first six races raised Laverty's stock, while his front row grid slots at Cadwell Park and Knockhill were further evidence that he is likely to be a future race winner.

As it happens, Laverty didn't quite squeeze onto the podium this year and a dismal run of luck in the final few rounds saw him drop to ninth in the standings.

Nonetheless, he made his point in 2008, as well as plenty of fans, so expect someone to snap him up for an assault on the 2009 top flight.

9th – Michael Laverty
10th – Simon Andrews

Tomorrow: Who did you vote eighth in the BSB Rider of the Year poll?

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
4. Michael Laverty Relentless Suzuki by TAS, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K8
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.