Top ten BSB riders: James Ellison.

We at recently invited you to cast your vote for your favourite riders in this year's Bennetts British Superbikes season by rating their efforts out of ten.

Now, having crunched the numbers and tapped the calculators we will begin to start counting down the riders you believe were most deserving of your plaudits in 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November. Almost 12,000 votes were cast on the BSB poll, with each riders average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BSB Rider of the Year – Third place:

Name: James Ellison
Team: Hydrex Bike Animal Honda
Bike: Honda CRB1000RR Fireblade
Wins: 0
Podiums: 4
Championship points: 230
Championship position: 7th

He didn't win a race, he scored a relatively meagre four podiums and he finished the year in seventh position overall – yet James Ellison did enough for you in 2008 to be voted as the third best BSB rider of the year.

The statistics don't tell the full story for Ellison, who arrived in BSB after stints in MotoGP and AMA that threatened to push him towards obscurity. Joining Shaun Muir's Hydrex Bike Animal team, Ellison showed flashes of brilliance throughout 2008, leading at Oulton Park and Donington Park, even if he wasn't quite able to break his victory duck.

Second place finishes at the two Oulton Park rounds signalled the highlights of his season, but his third place at the Brands Hatch season-finale, where he fought off Leon Haslam, Leon Camier and Tom Sykes, was arguably his finest result.

It is these performances on unfancied machinery that has garnered your support in this poll, not mention Ellison's approachable personality that makes him a popular figure here on

Ellison has his big break in 2009 though – a chance at the title with GSE Racing and the brand new Yamaha R1. A favourite among many observers, Ellison could very well be number one in our 2009 BSB Rider of the Year poll this time next year...

3rd – James Ellison
4th – Cal Crutchlow
5th – Leon Haslam
6th – Leon Camier
7th – Michael Rutter
8th – John Laverty
9th – Michael Laverty
10th – Simon Andrews

Tomorrow: We reach number two in the BSB Rider of the Year poll.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ellison, BSB Brands Hatch. Race 2. The Final.
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.