While much of the emphasis recently has been on the MotoGP and World Superbike grids for 2009, the British Superbike Championship is holding its own when it comes to attracting high-profile names and decent numbers.

Indeed, while the top four riders from this year's series are heading to the world stage in 2009, BSB had looked somewhat vulnerable as it entered the off-season.

However, while we may have also lost big names in the shape of Shane Byrne, Leon Haslam, Tom Sykes, Cal Crutchlow and even Ducati, a flurry of activity in recent weeks nonetheless reveals a grid that is already close to the 20 mark, while the likes of Sylvain Guintoli, Joshua Brookes and Chris Walker provide the BSB with an internationally recognised flavour.

With more than three months to go until the first round of the season at Brands Hatch, the following is the confirmed 2009 BSB grid so far...

Airwaves Yamaha
James Ellison
Leon Camier

HM Plant Honda
Joshua Brookes
Glen Richards

Crescent Suzuki
Sylvain Guintoli

Relentless by TAS Suzuki
Ian Lowry
Atsushi Watanabe

Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha
Chris Walker
Graeme Gowland

Hydrex Bike Animal Honda
Karl Harris

North West 200 Yamaha
Michel Rutter

MSS Colchester Kawasaki
Simon Andrews
Julien Da Costa

Buildbase Kawasaki
John Laverty
Tristan Palmer

SMT Honda
Jason O'Halloran

Red Viper Honda
Aaron Zanotti

Team Maxxis Branson Yamaha
David Johnson


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment