Relentless by TAS Suzuki crowned a successful 2008 season at last weekend's Irish Racer Motorcycle Awards, lifting the 'Team of the Year' award for the fifth time in six years.

The gala black tie ball - attended by 550 guests - is Ireland's leading awards ceremony for two-wheeled motorsport.

"It is very pleasing indeed to be voted Ireland's top motorcycle racing team and also to receive this prestigious award for the fifth time at Ireland's leading motorcycle awards ceremony," said team principal Phillip Neill. "I have said it before, but my Father and I really could not compete at the top level of racing without the efforts of our dedicated workforce, and of course the quality riders who we are privileged to work with; this award really is testament to their efforts.

"We are also indebted to our wide variety of partners, many of whom have supported TAS Racing from the very beginning. These include Suzuki GB, Relentless Energy Drink, Beacon Security, Pirelli tyres and GMC Graphics. Finally, I would like to thank our current sponsors and the panel of expert judges who once again voted for our team on the night."

For his double TT success in Superbike and Superstock, his second place in the Senior TT and two podiums at the North West 200, Australian Cameron Donald added to the team's haul of silverware on the night by taking the International Road Racer of the Year award.

Ian Lowry also capped a successful 2008 British Supersport campaign, finishing runner-up in the Short Circuit Rider of the Year category to World Superbike star Jonathan Rea.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment