Preview - Mallory Park

Ten wins in twelve races… things are looking very good for Leon Camier at the head of the British Superbike Championship standings as the series heads to round seven at Mallory Park.

Six victories in a row have now increased his margin over team-mate James Ellison to a 78 point chasm, while his run of wins means he needs just one more to surpass former team-mate Shane Byrne in terms of triumphs in a single season.

There isn't much to suggest he won't extend his lead at Mallory Park, one of the quirkier circuits on the calendar. Its short configuration means riders will not get into top gear, ensuring those with the best sorted chassis will prevail this weekend.

Of course, the Yamaha R1 seems to be the best sorted of them all, having won at each circuit so far this season - from Knockhill to Donington Park -, but Camier's indifferent form at Mallory in the past may give his rivals a better chance to get on terms.

His top challengers, as ever, are expected to be Ellison and Stuart Easton, but also Josh Brookes, whose tardy start to the season has given way to make him arguably Camier's biggest rival in a straight fight.

Breaking the Yamaha man's run of pole positions at Knockhill, while he wasn't quite a match for him come race day, the progress is evident.

Away from the fight at the front, Mallory Park will also be significant for the number of 'movers and shakers' elsewhere in the field following a number of rider changes.

Chief amongst these comes at HM Plant Honda following the confirmation that Glen Richards broke his leg in his accident during qualifying at Knockhill. His absence, however, will see the team's Superstock star Steve Brogan make his Superbike debut at Mallory Park.

With no Superstock commitments over the weekend, the reigning champion will line-up alongside Brookes before handing the machine over to Steve Plater for the next two rounds.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Camier, British WSBK 2009
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.