Crash.Net BSB News

Kiyonari takes healthy race one win

17 September 2006

HM Plant Honda's Ryuichi Kiyonari got his title chase back on track winning race one at Silverstone for the twelfth round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship.

Standing next to him on the podium was defending Champion Gregorio Lavilla on his Airwaves Mint Black Ducati, and taking up the final place on the podium was the second HM Plant Honda of Karl Harris.

Leon Haslam crashed out of the lead of the race on lap seven when he lost the back at Priory; the crash has altered the Championship standings with his team-mate Lavilla now leading by five points, Haslam is pushed back to second place and Kiyo is third but only six points off Lavilla's score.

Off the line it was Kiyonari who got the hole shot but Haslam wasn't hanging around and he pushed by him into the lead on the run into Bridge. Johnny Rea on the Red Bull Honda was running in third place with Michael Rutter on the Stobart Honda in fourth place and Lavilla was as far back as fifth.

Lavilla had a huge moment which allowed Tommy Hill to squeeze past, but once he got his head down again he was on a charge forward through the pack. By lap four he was up to third place having muscled by Rea.

Lap five saw Michael Laverty and Shane Byrne bite the dust together at the chicane. Two laps later it was time for Haslam to fall, Craig Coxhell on the Hawk Kawasaki also crashed on the same lap.

Further down the field Harris moved up to fourth place relegating Rutter to fifth. The action really kicked off on lap thirteen when Rea started to push Lavilla, they swapped places several times but Lavilla stayed put. By now Lavilla, Rea and Harris were all over one another and fighting hard for the podium.

James Haydon finished his first race back by touring in with a technical on lap seventeen. Harris continued to battle with Rea right until the final corner when Rea had a massive moment allowing him through – he was lucky to save it. Harris nailed it to the line and took a well earned third place.

BSB race results (1) – Silverstone:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Gregorio Lavilla
3. Karl Harris
4. Johnny Rea
5. Michael Rutter
6. Tommy Hill
7. Ben Wilson
8. Dean Thomas
9. Glen Richards
10. Peter Hickman