Camier claims fifth win at Thruxton

Lowry was the man on the move during the early stages, climbing to a high of fifth position having dispersed a series of rivals on the Relentless Suzuki. However, the Ulsterman's charge would falter soon afterwards as he rapidly began slipping down the order, eventually crossing the line in 19th position.

With Karl Harris enduring similar issues as he fell to what would be 11th by the chequered flag, it freed up Andrews to launch a late attack on Richards for fourth position, one that included a breathtaking manoeuvre on the outside at Church on the penultimate lap.

While Richards would get him back straight away, the pair would resume their last lap exchange from Donington Park – also for fourth -, with Andrews once again prevailing with a solid pass at Campbell as Richards' tyres visibly began to fade.

The Australian's demotion wouldn't end there though as he would also be overtaken before the end of the lap by the looming Rutter. Having made a tardy first start on the Worx Crescent Suzuki, Rutter gradually worked his way back into contention to snatch fifth from Richards on the sprint down to the final corner chicane.

It meant Richards would be forced to settle for sixth, one position ahead of team-mate Josh Brookes, who endured a somewhat lonely race in seventh place.

Just behind, John Laverty secured his best result of the season in eighth place on the Buildbase Kawasaki after resisting the race long attentions of Mason, the privateer never really recovering from an error on the opening lap when he ran wide at Club.

Julien Da Costa worked his way up the order to claim tenth at the expense of Harris, while Graeme Gowland, Jason O'Halloran, Atsushi Watanabe and Cup rider Tom Tunstall completed the points.
by Ollie Barstow

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha R1 [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.