Leon Camier continued his domination of the 2009 ViSK.com British Superbike Championship on Sunday, by winning the first race at Knockhill - venue for the sixth round of the series.

Camier, who started second aboard his Airwaves Yamaha, took the lead on the second lap at Real Radio Hairpin, after shadowing Stuart Easton.

In the end he won by just under 2 seconds, after the safety car was deployed late on when when Gary Mason lost the front of his Quay Garage Honda and in the process also took out Tristan Palmer.

On the re-start Camier held on to P1, despite a bit of a wheelie, and he then 'ticked off' the remaining 6 laps to notch up his ninth win of the season - and the first for GSE Racing at Knockhill.

"I thought it was going to be hard work and I knew I had to remain consistent throughout the race and get a good result for Airwaves Yamaha," Camier told the official BSB website.

"There were so many things going through my mind, on the restart [on lap 27] I got a bit of a wheelie and then I just bunched everyone else which gave me what I needed.

"On the first lap I had +0 on my board so I got my head down and got the final laps in. I got into my rhythm and took the win for the Airwaves Yamaha team."

Meanwhile Stuart Easton secured the runners-up spot for Hydrex Honda, although he was unable to make the most of a great start which saw him move up from P3 to P1 and pass Camier and pole man, Josh Brookes.

Brookes finished the race in third, just one tenth off Easton, while MSS Colchester Kawasaki's Simon Andrews and James Ellison, in the second Airwaves Yamaha entry, rounded out the top five.

Further down the order, Ian Lowry was sixth for Relentless Suzuki, followed by Motorpoint/Henderson Yamaha's duo Chris Walker and Graeme Gowland.

Team NB Suzuki's Tommy Bridewell took the honours in the Mirror.co.uk Cup category - and he also took P9 overall, edging out the SMT Honda of Jason O'Hallaoran, who finished tenth.

Michael Rutter was just outside the top ten and had to settle for eleventh. Rutter, who is standing in for the injured Sylvain Guintoli, had qualified on the front row for Worx Crescent Suzuki, but he failed to capitalise on it.

In total seven riders failed to finish. Hydrex Honda's Karl Harris was the first casualty when he went off at Real Radio Hairpin, while trying to pass Chris Walker. Julien Da Costa followed not long after, as did John Laverty, who crashed at Scotsman. Four laps later, David Johnson joined the retirees list, crashing at Real Radio Hairpin and then on lap 21 Mason lost it and collected Palmer - as mentioned previously.

The action in the 2009 ViSK.com British Superbike Championship now continues at 16.30 hours [local time] with race 2.