Camier keeps up record-breaking run

With the all-clear given after just a single lap – so brief in fact that the tail-enders hadn't even had the chance to close up properly -, Camier, Ellison and Easton resumed their battle.

While it was Ellison that looked most likely to upset the current order as he hustled Camier, it was in fact Easton who would strike back with a perfectly executed out-braking manoeuvre into Hizzy's.

Buoyed by his superb last gasp victory in race one, Easton set about repeating his feat as the trio entered the final lap, the Scot identifying the Hizzy chicane again as the place to make his move. Camier was wise to it though, moving to the inside and forcing Easton to the outside of the bend.

Although he got alongside, there was no chance for Easton to get ahead, Camier proceeding to hold steady through Druids and Lodge to cross the line a winner by just 0.3secs.

With just a second covering the top three, Ellison crossed the line in third to make up for the podium he missed out on during the first race, while fourth for Hill ensured Airwaves Yamaha and Hydrex Honda would once again lock out the leading positions.

Guintoli had been ahead of Hill at the half-way stage of the race, the Frenchman enjoying his best run since returning from his leg injury, but would drop behind the former World Superbike rider to settle for a second fifth of the weekend.

One of the few to take advantage of the safety car period, John Laverty emerged as the best of the Kawasaki contingent on his Buildbase machine after catching and passing the HM Plant Honda of Josh Brookes, the Australian nonetheless keeping hold of fourth in the standings with just one race remaining.

Michael Rutter did his qualifying position justice on this occasion to finish a comfortable eighth on the Bathams Ducati, ahead of Simon Andrews and Glen Richards.

Eleventh position for Tommy Bridewell, meanwhile, saw him claim the honours in the Cup category, ahead of Gary Mason and Tom Tunstall.
by Ollie Barstow

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.