Brookes wins shortened Cadwell race

Alastair Seeley confirms his place in the shootout alongside Kiyonari, Hill, Brookes, Laverty and Rutter.
Josh Brookes, Tommy Hill and Ryuichi Kiyonari head into the three round British Superbike title showdown separated by just a single point after Brookes claimed victory in race two at Cadwell Park.

The Australian made his move for the lead on Hill at the right time after the race was stopped four laps early due to a crash for James Edmeades on the Redline KTM.

Brookes had made the best start to lead initially, but Hill slipped through shortly around the opening lap, with Kiyonari following him through.

However, Brookes's mighty efforts over 'the Mountain' enabled him to get the better of both riders, the HM Plant Honda rider getting enough air to put him into position to pass into Hall.

Passing Hill on lap eleven, Brookes was classified as the winner when the red flags were deployed soon afterwards so medics could treat Edmeades, who had crashed on the exit of the chicane.

The result creates an exciting spectacle ahead of the three-round shootout as Kiyonari, Hill and Brookes starting on 525, 525 and 524 points respectively once podium credits taken into account.

Michael Laverty and Michael Rutter completed the top five, the pair registered with 509 and 510 points heading into the final rounds. The sixth and final spot, meanwhile, was confirmed as going to Alastair Seeley, who will start the final three events on 505 points.

The race two results mirrored those of race one, with James Ellison finishing sixth, ahead of Yukio Kagayama. Following his disqualification in race one, Tommy Bridewell was eighth, ahead of Seeley and Gary Mason, who sneaked a top ten finish on a terrible day for MSS Colchester Kawasaki.

Further back, Steve Brogan took Evo honours to move comfortably ahead in the overall standings.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

steve jackson - Unregistered

August 30, 2010 9:19 PM

@oldtimer It's plain to see that all the commentators including tony carter are all towing the MSVR line and trying to big up the "Shootout", as it was blatently obvious that when Michael Rutter said the real champion should be the one who scores the most points over the whole season was told to shut up and quickly ushered out of the way. Well done Michael for voicing what I believe to be most of the actual riders opinion.

oldtimerMKII - Unregistered

August 30, 2010 7:30 PM

Wow! This IS exciting, it must be because I heard Mr Palmer on Eurosport telling me how exciting it is. There was only about 5 points separating the top 3 riders at the end of normal play today. Isn't that close enough? I guess we can call Hill the 2010 BSB champion & whoever wins the "dash for cash" can be the consolation prize winner. What happens to riders like Laverty (J) and Ellison who may have been able to get a top six placing under the old rules? They may as well stay at home now & save the sponsors some cash. I realise that all the pro-new rules men will be jumping down my throat for being old fashioned but sometimes the old ways work.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.