Kirkham heads Hopkins for Crescent 1-2

The fifth different winner in five races, Kirkham will also start the second race from pole position after scoring the fastest lap on the final revolution.

Byrne's retirement, meanwhile, means Hopkins is now leading the BSB standings by six points.

Mason completed his first podium result for MSS Colchester Kawasaki, a crucial result for the former BSB Cup winner having struggled to make an impression aboard the ZX-10R so far this year.

Loris Baz was a distant fourth, the Frenchman another to benefit from the safety car after an awful start from third on the grid left him as low as 17th position at one stage, while Lowes held on for an excellent fifth place finish and another EVO victory – his fourth from five races.

Stuart Easton completed a good race for Kawasaki in sixth position, ahead of Peter Hickman, scoring his best BSB finish in seventh, Josh Brookes in eighth, Glen Richards in ninth and Tommy Bridewell in tenth position.

Further back, Hudson Kennaugh scored Splitlath Aprilia's first points of the year in a fine 11th, ahead of James Westmoreland and Buildbase BMW duo John Laverty and Ian Lowry.

Hill, meanwhile, soldiered on to score a solitary point in 15th position, the Swan Yamaha rider faring better than Laverty, who pulled into the pit lane before returning to the circuit a lap down.

Having struggled for speed all weekend, Ryuichi Kiyonari endured a similarly dismal race, dropping from 14th to as low as 25th at one point before eventually pitting.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jon Kirkham - Samsung Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jon Kirkham - Samsung Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Jon Kirkham - Samsung Crescent Suzuki
Jon Kirkham - Samsung Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
alastair seeley, RAF BMW, BSB [Credit: MSV]
Shane Byrne, Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Carter Sport PR]
Richard Cooper, Buildbase BMW, BSB [Credit: BSB]
Richard Cooper, buildbase BMW, BSB
Shane Byrne tests Be Wiser PBM Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Shane Byrne - PBM Be Wiser Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
James Rispoli, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Vittorio Iannuzzo, Gearlink Kawasaki
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Tyco BMW, bike, BSB [Credit:]
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB []
Michael Laverty, Christian Iddon, [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.