Byrne nudges ahead with fourth win

The HM Plant Honda rider adds more podium credits to his tally, though Tommy Hill and John Hopkins finish just behind him in second and third.
Shane Byrne has won his fourth race of the 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship season after prevailing in an absorbing battle with key title rival Tommy Hill.

Both Byrne and Hill came into the second race of the weekend determined to make up for failing to score in the opening encounter, both riders having been caught out by an ill-advised tyre choice in tricky conditions.

Nonetheless, having taken advantage of a grid determined by fastest laps from race one – with those who pitted for slick tyres benefitting over those that stayed on intermediates -, Hill got away well from pole position to lead into the opening bends.

Joan Lascorz and Michael Rutter gave chase, the latter edging ahead of the factory Kawasaki rider by the end of the lap, though both would soon find themselves behind Byrne as he carefully worked his way into contention.

On the tail of Hill's Swan Yamaha by lap four, Byrne pushed ahead into the lead on lap six and set about trying to pull away from his rival.

As it happens, Hill stayed close to Byrne, but his efforts to wrest the lead off the HM Plant Honda rider were restricted to a failed overtake at Paddock Hill Bend on lap 13, Hill going through but running wide and allowing Byrne back ahead.

Indeed, though Hill stayed close to the chequered flag, Byrne rebuffed his every effort, enabling him to come home a winner for the first time since Thruxton.

Behind Hill, John Hopkins made good progress from 12th on the grid to come home in third place, the American unable to do much about the leaders once he had dispatched of Rutter.

Another bold ride from Rutter was rewarded with fifth place, just behind Michael Laverty, while race one winner Josh Brookes was a solid sixth after being forced to work his way up the order again from 13th on the grid.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne HM Plant Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Shane Byrne HM Plant Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Shane Byrne HM Plant Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Tommy Bridewell Tyco BMW Motorrad -
Taylor Mackenzie Team WD-40 Kawasaki -
Shane Byrne PBM Kawasaki -
Shane Byrne PBM Kawasaki -
Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW Motorrad -
Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha -
Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha -
Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha -
Jenny Tinmouth Honda Racing -
Jenny Tinmouth Honda Racing -
Jason O`Halloran Honda Racing -
James Ellison JG Speedfit Kawasaki -

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Luke - Unregistered

August 07, 2011 3:09 PM

Also the latter part of race 1 is dominated by the commentators telling us the fastest laps and positions for race 2 ! QUALIFYING SHOULD BE BEFORE THE RACING AND NOT DURING IT !

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.