Brookes holds off rivals for satisfying win

The defining moment of the race eventually came on lap eleven when Brookes's unorthodox line around Vale, where he runs deep into the entry, wide on the exit and tight around the ensuing long right-hander, paid dividends as he held out Hill long enough to slip underneath him.

Taking charge of the race, Brookes proceeded to open up a margin that no-one else had been capable of doing before, the order staying static until the red flag was dropped on the final lap due to Chris Walker's Pr1mo Kawasaki expiring on the home straight.

It meant Brookes was able to celebrate his second win of the year, while Hill clawed back some ground on third place Hopkins in the fight for the title, the pair split by eight points in Hopkins's favour with three races remaining.

Brookes's win moves him into third place, albeit 41 points behind Hopkins, while Laverty and Byrne, who finished fourth and fifth respectively, are tied on points in fourth and fifth.

Behind the top five, Kirkham and Hickman settled for sixth and seventh in a convincing display of frontline riding, the pair well ahead of eighth place Michael Rutter on the Rapid Bathams Ducati. Tommy Bridewell and Dan Linfoot completed the top ten, ahead of Graeme Gowland, Alex Lowes, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Gary Mason and Ian Lowry.

Meanwhile, two second place finishes means Glen Richards is the 2011 British Superbike EVO Champion, a result that also signals a first title for BSB debutants WFR Honda.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Jamie Morris]
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Relentless Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Christian Iddon, Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW [Credit: ianhopgoodphotography]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Bennetts Suzuki, BSB [Credit: Halsall Racing]
Danny Buchan joins Moto Rapido Ducati
GBmoto Racing, Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: GBmoto Racing]
Michael Laverty, Ellison, Byrne, [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Josh Brookes, BSB [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
John Hopkins and Tommy Hill, THM ePayMe, BSB [Credit: BSB]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Luke - Unregistered

September 25, 2011 6:32 PM

Brilliant race! Shame we were robbed of the last lap but great racing! Its so much better when there's a bunch battling away than a procession! Well done to Josh Brookes he deserved to win but I reckon after Brands the new champion will be the Hopper !

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group | Built by Accelerate Agency

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.