Laverty cruises to Knockhill victory

Laverty puts in a feisty performance to pass both Shane Byrne and Tommy Hill on the way to his second MCE British Superbike Championship win of the season.
CLICK HERE to view the full Race 2 Results.

Michael Laverty has notched up three more precious podium credits after pushing through to victory in the second MCE British Superbike Championship race of the day at Knockhill.

The Samsung Honda rider finished a close third behind Shane Byrne and Tommy Hill in the opening encounter, but changes to the CBR1000RR during the break transformed him into the rider to beat as he worked his way to the head of the field.

Starting third, Laverty was initially consigned to fourth behind pole sitter Hill, race one winner Byrne and Ian Lowry, but after dispatching of the latter at the end of lap one by out-braking him into the last turn, he pulled a similar move to overtake Byrne on lap three. Though Byrne responded with an immediate re-pass into turn one, Laverty eventually nosed ahead to go in search of leader Hill.

Seemingly much stronger on the brakes into the final corner hairpin, though Laverty's first attempts to pass Hill would see him scythe through and subsequently run wide – allowing the Yamaha back past -, he eventually got it right on lap 12.

Byrne also made it past Hill on lap 13 but was unable to keep up with Laverty, who duly maintained a lead of almost one second to the chequered flag.

Marking his second win of the season, the result puts him clear of the crucial sixth place battle in the standings, as well as increasing his podium credits to nine, compared to Hill on 15, Byrne on 13 and Brookes on 8.

Byrne finished the meeting as the highest scorer to put himself just two podium credits behind Hill, who held on to complete the podium and leave Scotland as the new leader in the standings.

Erstwhile championship leader Josh Brookes completed a fairly anonymous weekend in a lonely fourth, dropping him to third overall, though he remains just nine points off a tight lead fight.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jon Laverty Splitlath Redmond - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Jason O`Halloran, Michael Laverty [pic credit: Honda TT Legends]
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty - Jamie Morris
Michael Laverty Samsung Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Yamaha R1 [Credit:]
Tyco BMW
Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1
Shane Byrne wins Torrens Trophy
Joe Burns signs for Gearlink Kawasaki, alongside team boss Michael de Bidaph
Josh Waters - Halsall Suzuki
Billy McConnell - Smiths Racing BMW
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Honda confirms BSB return with Linfoot, O’Halloran
Honda UK announces Linfoot, O`Halloran for BSB 2015

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.