Hill eases to Oulton Park win

Behind them, Noriyuki Haga stayed out of trouble for fourth position, the Japanese rider bringing himself up to within a point of the crucial sixth place in the overall standings.

A race of high attrition, as well as Laverty, Lowry and Lowes crashing out, Alastair Seeley and Jon Kirkham retired from good positions with technical issues, while Tristan Palmer was also on course for a top ten finish when he slid off the GBmoto Honda.

As such, James Westmoreland came through for a second consecutive top five finish, the WFR Honda rider just keeping a fast-approaching Tommy Bridewell at bay. The Supersonic BMW rider had started a lowly 17th but picked his way up the order to finish in sixth place, in turn moving himself up to fifth in the overall standings.

Shrugging off his foot injuries, Chris Walker was a noteworthy seventh on the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki, just ahead of Peter Hickman, who turned his fine qualifying performance into Buildbase's best BMW result in eighth place.

Graeme Gowland made it two WFR Hondas in the top ten in ninth, while Hickman's team-mate Barry Burrell made it a day of success for Buildbase BMW in tenth position.

Rounding out the points' paying positions, Patric Muff crossed the line 11th, Luke Quigley 12th, Scott Smart 13th, Michael Rutter 14th and Mark Aitchison 15th, the latter picking up a point on his BSB debut aboard the Quattro Plant Kawasaki.

Looking ahead to the second race, Lowes starts from pole position, with Hill, Haga and Byrne making up the front row, while Brookes is joined by three non-finishers - Seeley, Laverty and Lowry – on row two.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Jamie Morris
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.