Hill completes Oulton Park hat-trick

Tommy Hill does the triple at Oulton Park to multiply his advantage in the MCE British Superbike Championship standings, ahead of Shane Byrne and Josh Brookes.
CLICK HERE to view the full Race 3 Results.

Tommy Hill has multiplied his advantage in the MCE British Superbike Championship standings after completing a superb hat-trick of victories at Oulton Park.

Having dominated his way to victory in races one and two, Hill came into the third race odds-on to become the third triple winner in BSB history (after Leon Camier in 2009 and Ryuichi Kiyonari in 2010) and quickly stamped his mark by grabbing the lead from pole sitter Josh Brookes into the opening bend.

With his rivals determined not to let Hill get away again, Brookes attempted to make a race of it by slicing through into the lead at the end of lap two, the first time this weekend that a rider other than Hill had been out front.

However, it was a fleeting moment as Hill swiftly re-passed at the very next bend to restore order before Brookes ended his victory hopes with a high-side moment at Brittens on lap four, the Australian almost launched off the bucking Tyco Suzuki.

Though he was fortunate to keep the bike pointing in the right direction, Brookes dropped from second to sixth, promoting Michael Laverty, Noriyuki Haga, Shane Byrne and Alex Lowes ahead of him.

Having just missed out on a podium finish in race two, Haga set about looking to make amends as he slipped up the inside of Laverty into the Hislop chicane on lap six, the Japanese rider promptly followed through by Shane Byrne.

With Laverty dropping back behind a recovering Brookes and Hill beginning to extend his advantage out front, the battle for second place would come down to a three-way battle between Haga, Byrne and Brookes.

Byrne struck at Brittens on lap 12 to move into second, but would proceed to be pressured by Haga for the remaining six laps as the former World Superbike star looked on course for only his second podium of the season.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.