Byrne holds off Brookes for victory

Shane Byrne fends off Josh Brookes to secure victory at Brands Hatch, while Tommy Hill inherits third place when Noriyuki Haga crashes on the final lap.
CLICK HERE to view the full Race 1 Results.

Shane Byrne has picked up more precious podium credits after resisting the attentions of Josh Brookes for victory at Brands Hatch.

Having started from pole position, though the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider would cede the lead to Michael Laverty initially, he would regain the position on lap two and hold firm to the chequered flag.

Even so, Byrne was made to work hard for victory, the former champion being challenged initially by a feisty Noriyuki Haga, who had forged his way up to second position to tail his rival by lap seven.

However, when the Japanese rider was unable to find a way past Byrne, Brookes capitalised by dismissing the Swan Yamaha rider on lap 13 to spend the last five laps attempting to harass the Kawasaki rider into a mistake.

Nonetheless, Byrne kept his lines tidy to notch up his third win of the season, while Brookes kept up his tally of podium credits by following him home in second place, less than half a second behind.

Behind them, the final spot on the rostrum looked to be going the way of Haga, only for the former WSBK rider to crash on the final lap at Graham Hill Bend. His misfortune duly promoted team-mate Tommy Hill up to third place, the series leader having to fight back into contention after dropping as low as sixth in the early stages.

Laverty crossed the line in a fairly lonely fourth place, while Tommy Bridewell shrugged off another disappointing qualifying performance to scythe his way up to fifth place, in doing so strengthening his hopes of reaching the title showdown, particularly with Haga and Ian Lowry crashing out.

Chris Walker finished sixth, ahead of Alex Lowes, the youngster flying the flag for WFR Honda after team-mates Graeme Gowland and James Westmoreland crashed.

Behind them, Stuart Easton, Alastair Seeley and Michael Rutter rounded out the top ten, ahead of Barry Burrell, Jon Kirkham, Karl Harris – scoring points on his return to the series – Luca Scassa and Patric Muff.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Raoid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - Jamie Morris
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.