Tommy Hill eases to sixth victory of season

Reigning British Superbike champion Tommy Hill in a class of his own with commanding race one triumph at Cadwell
Tommy Hill stamped his authority on race one at Cadwell Park with an imperious performance that left his rivals floundering.

The reigning MCE British Superbike champion turned the tables Alex Lowes, who had been consistently fastest during qualifying yesterday.

Hill broke the WFR Honda rider's resolve with a series of searing laps towards the final stages of the 18-lap race to ease to victory by 2.7 seconds.

Michael Laverty confirmed his place in the Showdown as he crossed the line in a comfortable third place on the Samsung Honda, 3.6 seconds down on Hill.

Danny Buchan overhauled John Kirkham to move into fourth position with two laps remaining, while Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes gained the upper hand over Karl Harris to snatch sixth.

Laverty made the early running from Hill and Lowes before reigning champion Hill took over at Coppice on the third lap, with Lowes also making a move on the Northern Irishman.

Hill and Lowes began to pull away from Laverty, who in turn edged a gap over a three-way battle for fourth position involving Kirkham, Buchan and Harris.

Lowes shadowed Hill for much of the race without mounting a serious challenge for the lead, but Hill put the hammer down on lap 14, setting the fastest lap of the race in a time of 1m 27.986s to power ahead.

Lowes could do nothing but watch as Hill opened up a gap of 3.2 seconds by the penultimate lap, although he was safe in second place ahead of Laverty, whose third position was also guaranteed barring a mistake.

Aussie Brookes joined the battle for fourth involving Kirkham, Buchan and Harris and with one lap remaining moved into sixth position after putting a move on Harris.

Buchan demoted long-time fourth place man Kirkham to fifth two laps from the end, with Brookes settling for sixth.

James Westmoreland, Tommy Bridewell and Peter Hickman completed the top 10.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.