Tommy Hill too strong for rivals at Cadwell Park

Tommy Hill makes it look easy with brace on Swan Yamaha at Cadwell Park
Tommy Hill completed a classy double at Cadwell Park this afternoon to confirm his superiority at the Lincolnshire circuit on the Swan Yamaha.

Reigning MCE British Superbike champion Hill was too strong for his rivals as he moved into the lead of the race on lap nine with a gutsy move at Coppice, passing Michael Laverty's Samsung Honda and quickly establishing a gap at the front, which he maintained to the flag.

Hill's winning margin was 2.1 seconds over Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes, who dived up the inside of Laverty at the hairpin on lap 14 – a move he had earlier made on WFR Honda's Alex Lowes to jump into third place.

Lowes, runner-up in race one, had to settle for fourth place this time, just a few tenths of a second behind Laverty, with Tommy Bridewell a lonely fifth and James Westmoreland 17.4 seconds behind Hill in sixth position.

Bridewell is fifth in the championship standings on 142 points with Lowes' results today elevating him into the Showdown positions in sixth on 125 points.

However, Ulsterman Ian Lowry – who crossed the line in seventh in race two – remains firmly in touch in the Showdown shake-up just six points behind Lowes as the injured Noriyuki Haga drops to eighth on 113 points.

Peter Hickman overhauled Karl Harris in the closing stages for eighth, with the top ten completed by MSS Bathams Kawasaki rider Michael Rutter.

Rutter's team-mate, Danny Buchan – fourth in race one – crashed out on the third lap at the Mountain section.

CLICK HERE to view results

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
David Johnson, MotoDex BMW, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Tyco BMW, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Stuart Easton, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty (GBR), Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Yamaha R1, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ian Hutchinson (GBR), PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Waters - Halsall Suzuki
Milwaukee Yamaha R1, pre-season tests, BSB [Credit: British]
Josh Brookes, Yamaha R1 [Credit:]
Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1
Joe Burns signs for Gearlink Kawasaki, alongside team boss Michael de Bidaph
Josh Waters - Halsall Suzuki
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Tommy Bridewell - Milwaukee Yamaha [pic credit:]
Tommy Bridewell Milwaukee Yamaha -
Josh Waters Tyco Suzuki -

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.