Byrne snatches victory with last gasp move

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki star Shane Byrne denies Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes victory in race one at Thruxton with calculated final corner move
CLICK HERE to view Race 1 results.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki star Shane 'Shakey' Byrne played a waiting game as he pounced to secure his second MCE British Superbike Championship victory of the season with a calculated last lap move on Josh Brookes at Thruxton.

Byrne has now equalled the series record of 43 victories after he left it until the final corner to demote Tyco Suzuki star Brookes to the runner-up spot in race one, crossing the line to take the chequered flag with 0.301s to spare.

Pole-sitter Alex Lowes was third on the Samsung Honda, 0.633s down on Byrne, with the top trio finishing clear of the remainder of the field.

Buildbase BMW's James Westmoreland finished fourth after a battle with team-mate Jon Kirham, with the pair six seconds behind Byrne after 20 laps.

Milwaukee Yamaha's James Ellison, who was forced to start from the fifth row of the grid after struggling with a technical issue during free practice, rode a superb race to snatch sixth spot behind the Buildbase BMW duo.

Lowes hit the front after seizing the lead from Byrne on a dramatic first lap that saw Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Waters crash out unhurt at high speed.

Byrne took over the lead on lap two from Lowes and Ulsterman Keith Farmer on the second of Paul Bird's Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki machines, but the reigning National Superstock 1000 champion bit the dust on lap six on the approach to Allard as he battled with Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Chris Walker.

Farmer's accident resulted in the safety car taking to the Hampshire circuit and when the race resumed it was Byrne from Lowes, Brookes and Walker, although the veteran Kawasaki rider was dealt a cruel blow when he was forced to retire on his Quattro Plant ZX-10R.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Byrne leads - Ian Hopgood Photography
Lee Jackson, Buildbase BMW, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jenny Timouth, Honda Racing, BSB test day [Credit Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Buildbase BMW, BSB Donington test [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing, BSB, Donington test [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing, BSB, Donington test [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, Almeria [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
David Johnson, MotoDex BMW, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Tyco BMW, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Stuart Easton, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty (GBR), Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Yamaha R1, BSB test day [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison (GBR), JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ian Hutchinson (GBR), PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ryuichi Kiyonari and Lee Jackson, Buildbase BMW [Credit: British Superbike]
Pirelli, British Superbike, [Credit: Holeshot PR]
James Westmoreland, British Superbike, testing [Credit: Holeshot PR]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.