CLICK HERE to view Race 2 results.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane 'Shakey' Byrne quickly made amends for the disappointment of his race one crash as he won the second race at Oulton Park.

Byrne claimed a deserved victory over Josh Brookes on the Tyco Suzuki with race one winner Alex Lowes having to settle for third on this occasion on the Samsung Honda.

Related Articles

Lowes still leaves the Cheshire circuit at the top of the championship standings, albeit by a single point from Byrne.

The 36-year-old triple BSB champion hit the front on the first lap from Aussie Brookes and Lowes although there was drama at Old Hall as Buildbase BMW's James Westmoreland and Peter Hickman on the Lloyds British GBmoto Honda collided and crashed out.

The leading trio of Byrne, Brookes and Lowes quickly made a break from the remainder of the field and it was Honda rider Lowes who first came through to challenge the race leader, taking over on the seventh lap at Old Hall.

Byrne wasted no time as he re-took the position at Cascades but Lowes was undeterred and moved back into the lead at Island Bend.

Lowes dropped to second place and into the clutches of Brookes as Byrne powered the to front on the ninth lap with a decisive pass at Cascades, while James Ellison was now beginning to enter the equation on the Milwaukee Yamaha.

When Brookes edged in front of Lowes at Old Hall on the 11th lap, Ellison was poised behind the Samsung Honda and gained a place as he went third at Cascades after Lowes left the door ajar.

Lowes and Ellison swapped places on the following lap before the Honda rider gained the upper hand as Ellison appeared to be experiencing problems.

Meanwhile, Brookes had been creeping ever closer to Byrne on his Tyco Suzuki but a mistake on the brakes on the penultimate lap thwarted his hopes and Byrne took the win by 0.788s.

Brookes narrowly held on for the runner-up spot by 0.168s from Lowes, while the luckless Ellison was forced into the pits on lap 15 as he appeared to have encountered technical difficulties.

Jon Kirkham finished fourth on the Buildbase BMW ahead of Bathams Honda's Tommy Bridewell and Chris Walker on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki.

Howie Mainwaring (MH Kawasaki), Keith Farmer on the second Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki, Tristan Palmer (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) and Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Waters were the top ten.

Michael Rutter again suffered the misfortune of failing to complete the race on his Bathams Honda after making his 401st BSB start.

Tyco Suzuki's PJ Jacobsen was ruled out after six laps with machine problems, while Robbin Harms failed to start the race after a huge crash in race one left his team with no time to fix his Doodson Motorsport Honda.