BSB Knockhill: Byrne pounces late to deny Brookes

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane Byrne takes race one victory at Knockhill in Scotland after overhauling Josh Brookes in closing stages
CLICK HERE to view Race 1 results.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne played a waiting game as the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider pounced in the closing stages to take victory from long-time leader Josh Brookes in the opening MCE British Superbike race at Knockhill.

Byrne shadowed Aussie Brookes, who surged into an early lead, and made a decisive move three laps from the finish, eventually crossing the line to win by a second from the Tyco Suzuki rider.

The defending champion had first attempted to take the lead on lap 25 at the hairpin and there was contact between the pair as Brookes moved back to the front.

Byrne hit back again and this time made the pass stick on the 27th lap, opening a slight advantage to deny the Aussie by 1.069s after 30 laps.

Ryuichi Kiyonari returned to the BSB rostrum in third place as the Samsung Honda rider capitalised on a fall by his team-mate Alex Lowes to take the final podium position, five seconds behind the leading pair.

Lowes had been holding third place until lap 14, when he was involved in a high-side at the hairpin.

Behind Kiyonari, Ulsterman Keith Farmer finished fourth on the second of the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki machines, 16 seconds in arrears, with Chris Walker a few seconds back in fifth on the Quattro Plant Kawasaki.

Buildbase BMW's James Westmoreland held off the attention of James Ellison on the Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1 to complete the top six at the Scottish track.

Westmoreland's team-mate, Jon Kirkham, had been holding fourth until a fall at Scotsman four laps from the end ruined his chances.

Lowes set the fastest lap of the race in 48.949s on his fourth lap.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid solicitors Kawasaki - picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.