BSB Knockhill: Double delight as Byrne extends series lead

Shane 'Shakey' Byne roars to brilliant brace at Knockhill to increase British Superbike Championship lead to 30 points after four rounds
CLICK HERE to view Race 2 results.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Shane 'Shakey' Byrne toasted double delight at Knockhill in Scotland as the defending MCE British Superbike champion again had the upper hand over Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes.

Byrne has stretched his lead in the championship to 30 points as he continues to set the benchmark on Paul Bird's ZX-10R.

In contrast to the opening race, Byrne took the lead and set about dictating matters from the front.

He appeared comfortable in the lead and although Brookes launched a late attack, closing the gap to Byrne to 0.8s, Byrne had matters under control.

Brookes ran over the kerb at the chicane on the final lap and stayed aboard to secure second place, with Ryuichi Kiyonari a long way back in third place on the Samsung Honda as the Japanese rider again finished third.

Alex Lowes, who crashed out at the hairpin in the first race, came home in fourth place, 12.723s behind race winner Byrne.

Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Chris Walker repeated his result from race one as he finished in a lonely fifth with Buildbase BMW's James Westmoreland rounding out the leading half dozen.

Northern Ireland's Keith Farmer had been battling for sixth with Westmoreland until the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider ran wide at half-distance at the hairpin, losing ground and eventually finishing 13th.

Milwaukee Yamaha's James Ellison fell at Leslies on the opening lap after appearing to collide with the rear of Walker's Kawasaki.

Josh Waters was forced into the pits with a problem on his Milwaukee Yamaha to cap a frustrating weekend for Shaun Muir's team.

Bathams Honda rider Michael Rutter plus Jakub Smrz on the Padgett's Honda also crashed out, while Tommy Bridewell was ruled out of race two with a technical issue on his Bathams Honda.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - Ian Hopgood Photography
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.