Snetterton BSB: Shakey holds firm for race two win

Shane Byrne maintained his record of at least one win at each round of the 2013 MCE British Superbike season after a close 0.245s victory in Snetterton race two.

Title leader Byrne had been openly disappointed with third behind Alex Lowes and Josh Brookes in the opening race - and it would be the same trio that disputed victory in the second outing.

This time Byrne led way, initially holding firm in the face of pressure from Tyco Suzuki rider Brookes, until the Australian ran off-track after almost clipping Byrne's back wheel on lap 11 of 16.

Race one winner Lowes immediately took up the challenge and clung doggedly to Byrne's Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki for the rest of the race. But Byrne remained wheel perfect, denying the Samsung Honda rider of a chance to pass.

Byrne crossed the line 0.245s clear of Lowes, with Brookes completing the podium, but having dropped over seven seconds back after his off-track moment.

Lowes' team-mate Ryuichi Kiyonari, James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) and Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) completed the top six.

As in race one, the safety car made an early appearance, this time following a nasty highside for Buildbase BMW's Jon Kirkham that also brought down Robbin Harms, whose Doodson Honda then caught fire after barrel-rolling to a halt. Both riders received treatment at the scene.

Milwaukee Yamaha's James Ellison had been a frontrunner before the safety car intervened, but plummeted backwards after the restart and crossed the line in ninth.

Byrne now holds a 32-point championship advantage over Lowes, who has taken over second place from Brookes by three points. Four rounds remain until the start of the title Showdown, with the next event at Brands Hatch later this month.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne - Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki [Credit: David-Salisbury.Com]
Bennetts Suzuki, BSB, [Credit: Impact Images]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser PBM Ducati, BSB [Credit: Jon Jessopp Photo]
Shane Byrne and Glenn Irwin reveal the Be Wiser Ducati
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Shane Byrne, Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Carter Sport PR]
Shane Byrne tests Be Wiser PBM Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Shane Byrne - PBM Be Wiser Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
James Rispoli, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Vittorio Iannuzzo, Gearlink Kawasaki
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Holeshot PR]
Tyco BMW, bike, BSB [Credit:]
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB []
Linfoot, Tinmouth, O`Halloran, Honda, [Credit:]
Honda Racing, bikes, bsb [Credit:]
ePayMe Yamaha, THM, BSB [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.