Rutter does the business.

by Louise Cain

Michael Rutter rode a text book race in the second British Superbike round from Mondello Park, to take a well deserved win. Reynolds brought it home in second and Scott Smart put his Kawasaki on the podium again, but this time in third place.

The race got off to an eventful start with Dean Thomas crashing out in the first corner and narrowly missing being hit by the remainder of the pack. Rutter just got the hole shot ahead of Smart, and once clear of the first corner, Rutter settled in and lead from start to finish.

Tommy Hill put in a superb performance holding third spot from Reynolds. The usually smooth rider, Reynolds had a big “out-of-the-seat” moment on lap one, and was passed by Richards to drop to fifth.

The Virgin Yamaha team had more bad luck with Mason retiring due to a loose silencer, not a good day at the office for them. Reynolds got his head down on lap 4 passing Richards and setting another new lap record of 1:40:835.

It was now Hill's turn to get out of the seat, and allowed Reynolds to sneak past. The Suzuki rider now had the green machine of Smart to chase down and within 4 laps Reynolds was back up to second ahead of Smart, and charging after Rutter.

As the race progressed Reynolds was closing the gap on Rutter from 0.879sec to 0.424sec. Lap 11 saw the lap record tumble again, as Reynolds managed a 1min 40.731secs lap. But with 3 laps to go, Rutter dug deep and pulled clear by 1.2sec. As he crossed the line Rutter patted the tank of his Fireblade, a job well done.

Ride of the day has to go to Tommy Hill for holding his own with the top BSB riders, definitely one to watch for the future.

Race two: Top Ten

1. Michael Rutter HM Honda
2. John Reynolds Rizla Suzuki
3. Scott Smart Hawk Kawasaki
4. Glen Richards Hawk Kawasaki
5. Yukio Kagayama Rizla Suzuki
6. Tommy Hill Virgin Yamaha
7. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati
8. Kieran Clarke Colin Appleyard Yamaha
9. Craig Coxhell Vitrans Honda
10. James Buckingham Quay Garage Suzuki

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Rutter, HM Plant Honda CBR RR
John Reynolds, Rizla Suzuki GSXR
Scott Smart, Hawk Kawasaki ZX10R
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.