Injured he may be, but that didn't seem to be much of a hinderance for Rizla Suzuki's John Reynolds as he won the first race from round seven of the British Supersport at Brands Hatch GP track in wet conditions.

MonsterMob's Sean Emmett managed to fend off a late attack from Hawk Kawasaki stand-in John McGuiness and JR's team mate, Yukio Kagayama, took HM Plant's Michael Rutter in the dying stages to take fourth.

Pole sitter Kagayama nearly fell on the start of the wet race after spinning the rear and almost collecting Virgin Yamaha's Tommy Hill as he swerved across the track. After the incident Yukio was left way down the field with a great deal of work to do. The plucky Japanese rider kept his head down and managed to battle through the field to take fourth place from Rutter on the final lap.

Related Articles

His team mate and championship leader, John Reynolds, powered through from sixth to take the lead early on and managed to pull a four second lead by mid race distance. Reynolds who has a broken collarbone from two weeks ago seemed to benefit from the wet conditions.

However the safety car was called onto circuit due to a high speed crash by cup contender Malcom Ashley at Paddock Hill bend. Ashley needed some medical attention and therefore the pack had to be slowed to allow the marshals to help him from the gravel.

This allowed the field to close Reynolds' four second lead. Despite this, on the restart four laps later, JR immediately got the jump on second placed Emmett and managed to pull a five second lead in the final five laps to take a convincing win.

Man of the race John McGuinness was the lone Hawk Kawasaki as Scott Smart retired due to technical difficulties when he was up to fifth from twelfth on the grid. McGuinness managed to battle through from ninth on the grid to third in his first appearance in BSB this season for the injured Glen Richards.

The lead Honda rider, Michael Rutter, opted for a medium-soft rear wheel whereas the rest of the front pack had medium compound rear tyres that faired better when the track started to dry. This therefore saw Rutter struggling with grip out of corners, in spite of this he managed to hang on to a solid fifth.

Race one top ten
1. John Reynolds Rizla Suzuki
2. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati
3. John McGuinness Hawk Kawasaki
4. Yukio Kagayama Rizla Suzuki
5. Michael Rutter HM Honda
6. James Haydon Virgin Yamaha
7. Tommy Hill Virgin Yamaha
8. Leon Haslam Renegade Ducati
9. Sam Corke* Sovereign Suzuki
10. Dean Thomas Sendo Ducati

*denotes cup contender