James Haydon of Virgin Yamaha won the second race of the eighth round of the British Superbike Championship from Knockhill. He ended Yamaha's two year BSB win drought in spectacular style by leading the race from the second lap and holding off challenges from Sean Emmett who finished second, and John Reynolds who finished third.

Yukio Kagayama led the pack into the first corner but it was Haydon that was soon out in front on the second lap. Yukio immediately tried to take back his position at the front but out braked himself allowing his team mate Reynolds and Honda's Michael Rutter through.

Haydon then had to fend off challenges from Reynolds as the front three broke off from fourth placed Kagayama.

Related Articles

The safety car was called into action on the third lap when Haydon's Virgin team mate Gary Mason fell at the hair pin. Mason was uninjured and the safety car was back into the pits after only three laps.

This closed up the grid cutting the Haydon- Reynold- Rutter lead over the rest of the pack to nothing. When the safety car pulled in Haydon got the hole shot on the rest of the field to maintain his first place.

Further down the field fourth placed Kagayama followed by Smart and Emmett were riding in close succession. However at half race distance Emmett found a turn of speed and upped his pace to nearly a second quicker than the rest of the field as the track started to dry. He used this to good effect, taking Smart and Kagayama on lap 12.

Emmett then closed the four second gap to Rutter within five laps and by the end of the twentieth lap had taken him.

The leaders then came up against backmarkers which allowed Emmett to make a move on Reynolds stick. However in the dying stages Emmett's luck had ended as he got held up by a backmarker whilst trying to challenge Haydon for the lead.

This allowed Haydon to take the win closely followed by Emmett and Reynolds.

Yuki came home behind fourth placed Rutter with Hawk's Scott Smart only two tenths of a second behind the Rizla Suzuki rider's rear wheel.

Race two top ten

1. James Haydon Virgin Yamaha
2. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati
3. John Reynolds Rizla Suzuki
4. Michael Rutter HM Honda
5. Yukio Kagayama Rizla Suzuki
6. Scott Smart Hawk Kawasaki
7. John McGuinness Hawk Kawasaki
8. Craig Coxhell Vitrans Honda
9. Dean Thomas Sendo Ducati
10. James Ellison* Jentin Yamaha

* indicates cup contender