Michael Rutter won the first race from Cadwell Park after the race was stopped just two laps from the end due to an accident at the eleventh round of the British Superbikes.

John Reynolds crashed out of the race on the fifth lap, allowing Rutter to take a maximum points score and close the championship lead by a full 25 points. Reynolds was unhurt in the incident and will be on his spare bike for the second race.

Rutter got a good start and led the field into the first corner followed by young Tommy Hill. Rutter's team mate, Ryuichi Kiyonari, got an excellent start and was third into the first corner.

Related Articles

John Reynolds got relegated into sixth from the start but quickly made his was into third by the fourth lap, first taking Dean Thomas then taking Tommy Hill and Scott Smart.

Unfortunately for Reynolds he missed a gear going into one of the fastest corners of the circuit, Charlies one, and lost the front of the bike crashing out of the race.

Rutter led the rest of the race always under pressure from Kiyonari.

Yukio Kagayama made his way from eighth from the first corner of the first lap into third on the seventh lap.

Here he pestered the two Honda riders, looking likely that he would try and pass if the race was allowed to go full distance.

Unfortunately Steve Plater crashed out on the 16th lap. Although he was unhurt the race had to be red flagged due to the position of the very second hand looking bike.

This gave Rutter the win and due to Reynolds not finishing he has now closed the championship gap to 25 points.

The drive chain of pole sitter Scott Smart left the sproket coming over the mounting part of the circuit when he was in fourth place. This was the end of his race even though he managed to come into the pits to allow it to be fixed.

Race one top ten
1. Michael Rutter HM Honda
2. Ryuichi Kiyonari HM Honda
3. Yukio Kagayama Rizla Suzuki
4. James Haydon Virgin Yamaha
5. Tommy Hill Virgin Yamaha
6. Dean Thomas Sendo Ducati
7. Glen Richards Hawk Kawasaki
8. Kieran Clarke Colin Appleyard Yamaha
9. John McGuinness Hawk Kawasaki
10. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati