Yuki wins at track that nearly ended his career.

Yukio Kagayama won the second race from Cadwell Park British Superbikes just one year after a crash at the circuit left him in hospital for five months and nearly ended his career.

The race was delayed due to a rain shower just moments before the bikes where due to start the race. This saw the race delayed by almost half an hour and frantic activity in the pit lane as technicians tried to tell what the weather was going to throw at them next. Luckily it did not rain again and the race was restarted on a drying track.

This meant that tyre choice was critical, with cut slicks being the best tyre for the resultant weather conditions.

From the start Rutter led the race for the first lap but Kagayama quickly took the lead. Rutter was on full wet tyres whereas Kagayama was on cut slicks which suited the drying track.

As a result Rutter came into the pits on the third lap to have a slick rear fitted to accommodate the new dry line.

However this proved detrimental to his championship bid as the Honda rider was back into the pits just five laps later to retire from 20th position.

Kagayama went on to lead the race from this point on and at time was nearly two seconds a lap faster than second placed Scott Smart. By the end of the race Smart was only 6.5secs behind the Japanese rider, but could not make up the difference before the chequered flag.

Sean Emmett and Dean Thomas made their way through the pack, taking Glen Richards on the last lap to finish third and fourth respectively.

Glen Richards, who returned to racing this weekend after breaking his left arm at Thruxton, ran most of the race in third place but was pipped by the two Ducati riders before the end due to still suffering from his injury.

John Reynolds finished the race in eighth place to increase his lead at the top of the championship to 33 points, due to Michael Rutter not scoring any points in the second leg of the day.

Race two top ten
1. Yukio Kagayama Rizla Suzuki
2. Scott Smart Hawk Kawasaki
3. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati
4. Dean Thomas Sendo Ducati
5. Glen Richards Hawk Kawasaki
6. James Haydon Virgin Yamaha
7. Kieran Clarke Colin Appleyard Yamaha
8. John Reynolds Rizla Suzuki
9. John McGuinness Hawk Kawasaki
10. James Ellison Jentin Yamaha *

[* indicates cup contender]

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yukio Kagayama, Rizla Suzuki GSXR celebrates on the podium with champagne
Scott Smart, Hawk Kawasaki ZX10R
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Howie Mainwaring Smart, ePayMe Yamaha [Credit:]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, ePayMe Yamaha [Credit:]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, ePayMe Yamaha [Credit:]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Kagayama, Kiyonari, Haga on Suzuka podium (pic: Suzuki)
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Team Kagayama, Suzuka 8 Hours [Credit:]
Scott Smart Anvil Hire TAG Racing -
Scott Smart Anvil Hire TAG Racing -
Scott Smart Anvil Hire TAG Racing -
Scott Smart Anvil Hire TAG Racing -
Scott Smart: Moto Rapido Racing:  Credit: David Salisbury
Scott Smart Moto Rapido Racing - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Scott Smart - Moto Rapido Ducati [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Scott Smart Moto Rapido Racing - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.