HM Plant Honda's Ryuichi Kiyonari has taken the second race of the second round of the British Superbike championship at Thruxton - holding off a brave challenge from Airwaves Ducati rider Gregorio Lavilla - to win all four races of the 2005 BSB championship so far.

Kiyonari led from the early laps stretching out a small lead over second placed team-mate Michael Rutter.

Lavilla got a better start than the first race and was quickly into third place where he then capitalised on his position to take Rutter on the ninth lap.

Related Articles

An accident caused the safety car to come out on the tenth lap, closing the field up for the restart.

Kiyonari held his lead but Lavilla was right on his rear tyre and pushed the Japanese rider all the way to the end.

Rizla Suzuki rider Scott Smart had an engine failure one lap after the restart, with John Reynolds retiring late on in the race after starting from pit lane due to problems with his number one machine.

Top ten
1. Kiyonari
2. Lavilla
3. Rutter
4. Emmett
5. Richards
6. Thomas
7. Haslam
8. Harris
9. McWilliams
10. Plater