Airwaves Ducati rider Gregorio Lavilla took a convincing win in race two of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Snetterton on Sunday.

In second place was Superbike rookie Michael Laverty, who pushed his Stobart Honda hard all race to keep up with the more experienced riders, while the final place on the podium went to current Championship leader Michael Rutter of HM Plant Honda.

Rutter took the lead at the start, but Laverty wasn't going to make it easy for him and pinched the lead from him briefly. Meanwhile Leon Haslam, who had been on pole position, was running in third place when his Airwaves Ducati started to smoke and he was shown the black and orange flag. Thankfully he realised there was a problem before it ended in a crash, which is exactly what had happened to him in practice, when he didn't see the flag in time.

Related Articles

The drama continue when Kiyonari, winner of race one, crashed out at Sear corner on lap five whilst in third place. Rutter's third place combined with Kiyo's crash have left the Briton 45-points ahead of his team-mate in the championship stakes after this weekend, a two point increase.

Another faller was Rizla Suzuki's James Haydon who crashed out of fourth place on lap six, the Dad-to-be has had a rough and tumble weekend with three crashes under his belt. His team-mate and current British Champion John Reynolds didn't make it onto the podium this time, but did bring it home in fourth place.

Ex-MotoGP rider Chris Burns had a good result in race two finishing in tenth place on the AIM Yamaha, Burns has only just stepped into the team and considering this is his first full race weekend in nine months, tenth place is encouraging.

Scott Smart finished in fourteenth place, however his team-mate Ben Wilson managed to get his Vivaldi Kawaski into sixth place. That was Wilson's best finish this season and it could well be due to the influence of the more experienced Smart, who has been helping his young team-mates with bike set up.

BSB race two - Snetterton:

1. Lavilla
2. Laverty
3. Rutter
4. Reynolds
5. Plater
6. Wilson
7. Hill
8. Mason
9. Thomas