Win puts Lavilla in title lead.

Pole sitter Gregorio Lavilla has taken a storming win in race one of the twelfth round of the Bennetts Superbike Championship at Donington Park. With another twenty five points under his belt, that puts the Airwaves Ducati rider into the Championship lead by four points over Ryuichi Kiyonari.

Kiyonari on the black HM Plant Honda came home in second having chased Lavilla hard all race, however a couple of small mistakes relegated him to the second step on the podium.

The third place on the podium went to Lavilla's team-mate Leon Haslam, who had held second place for a while but Kiyonari got the better of him.

During the race long battle the lap record fell four times, it finally settled with Gregorio Lavilla with 1min 31.718secs.

Glen Richards and Dean Thomas on the Hawk Kawasakis had a good race one with Richards in fourth and Thomas in ninth. The Hawk team have big plans for next season providing the funding comes through, at the moment no riders have been signed, so it is a case of watch this space.

John Reynolds cured his front end concerns during morning warm up and put the changes through their paces in race one to finish in fifth place. His team-mate James Haydon had less luck, crashing out on the first lap at Coppice due to losing the front.

Reynolds finished ahead of HM Plant's Michael Rutter who came home in sixth place, with Kiyo and Lavilla in first and second, it looks like Rutter will have to settle for third in the Championship chase.

Dennis Hobbs who qualified in tenth place - his best qualifying this season, unfortunately crashed out of race one completely destroying his number one machine, but not injuring himself further.

The final faller of the day was Michael Laverty, who is making his come back from being hit by Ben Bostrom's bike at the Silverstone round, was holding thirteenth place when he had a braking incident at the Esses on the final lap.

BSB race results (1) – Donington Park:

1.Gregorio Lavilla
2.Ryuichi Kiyonari
3.Leon Haslam
4.Glen Richards
5.John Reynolds
6.Michael Rutter
7.Scott Smart
8.Tommy Hill
9.Dean Thomas
10.Gary Mason

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Pic: Tim Keeton/Raymonds Press Agency. 23.9.05.British Superbike Championship, Round 12, Donington Park. Free Practice.Gregorio Lavilla, GSE Airwaves Ducati
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Patric Muff Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales -
Michael Rutter Bathams Prize Winning Ales - Ian Hopgood Photography
James Ellison wins at Oulton Park
James Ellison wins at Oulton Park
Byrne leads - Ian Hopgood Photography
The 2011 British Superbike title winners [pic credit: Jamie Morris]
BSS champion Alastair Seeley wins the 2011 Enkalon Award
Rapid Solicitors announced as PBM title sponsor
James Ellison leads the field
Crescent Suzuki reveals Samsung title backer [pic credit: Suzuki]
Stuart Easton (Swan Honda) leads Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda), Thruxton, 2010 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.