Airwaves Ducati took another one two at an action packed third round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship at high-speed Thruxton in Hampshire. Gregorio Lavilla once more scythed through the field and pulled a 6.337sec lead over his team-mate Leon Haslam with third place going to the determined HM Plant Honda rider, Karl Harris.

The fun began for the Rizla Suzuki team on the out lap with Shane Byrne having a problem with his brakes, he wasn't confident in them so he opted to come in and pick up his number two machine. This bike change relegated him to the back row as the grid had already formed up for the off.

Once the lights went out it was Haslam who took the hole shot whilst Michael Rutter got a blazing start and jumped into second place just ahead of Harris. Meanwhile the Rizla Suzuki team's luck went from bad to worse when James Haydon crashed out on the first lap at Seagrave corner.

The gloves were off between Harris and Rutter and they battled it out for second place. Harris pushed under Rutter only to have Lavilla slip past both of them on lap two and steal second place.

Once into second place Lavilla set about catching his young team-mate and gradually reeled him in to take the lead on lap six. Glen Richards on the Hydrex Honda was shown the under observation flag only to fall foul of the concern and crash out unhurt. Next rider to bite the dust was Ollie Bridewell who had been keen to impress his home crowd, unfortunately for the Vivaldi rider he crashed out at Church. Billy McConnell of Virgin Mobile Yamaha also crashed out on lap six at the complex.

Ryuichi Kiyonari who didn't get the best of starts picked off Johnny Rea to get up to fourth place. Once past the hard riding Ulsterman Kiyo began to chase his team-mate and the final podium place as the Ducatis were now 6secs clear of the black Hondas.

The crashing continued on lap nine with Peter Hickman high siding his Hawk Kawasaki at the chicane, and he was lucky not to be hit by the on coming riders. His team-mate Dean Thomas had a better run in race two holding onto sixth place after doing battle with Rutter who had gone backwards due to set up concerns.

Lap fourteen saw Kiyo passing Harris for third place but Harris kept his head and passed his team-mate on the last corner of the last lap to secure his podium finish. Further down the field Howie Mainwaring and Kieran Clarke crashed out on the last corner whilst battling for thirteenth place. Despite his back row start Byrne rode hard and secured a top ten finish coming home in eighth place.

BSB race (2) results - Thruxton:

1. Gregorio Lavilla
2. Leon Haslam
3. Karl Harris
4. Ryuichi Kiyonari
5. Johnny Rea
6. Dean Thomas
7. Michael Rutter
8. Shane Byrne
9. Tommy Hill
10. Scott Smart