The undulating Oulton Park circuit in Cheshire saw some awesome on track action during the fourth round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship. Airwaves Ducati rider and Championship leader Gregorio Lavilla had a fraught race on his hands as he was hounded by Shane Byrne on the Rizla Suzuki.

As the lights went out HM Plant Honda's Karl Harris' luck disappeared as he was bumped wide onto the grass pushing him back down the order from front row of the grid to a lowly nineteenth place. Back at the front it was Leon Haslam who had made his usual break for the race lead, with James Haydon and Shane Byrne in hot pursuit.

Lavilla promptly passed Byrne on the run into Shell hairpin on the first lap to secure third place, one lap later he did exactly the same to Haydon - with the Suzukis out of the way he got his head down and started reeling in his team-mate who was ahead by 1.5secs.

Related Articles

Haydon and Byrne had a little tussle of their own on lap three with Byrne taking Haydon for third place. Further down the time sheets Harris was making his presence felt as he had worked his way up to ninth place by lap six. Up at the front the top three riders of Haslam, Lavilla and Byrne were bunching up on one another, but the action really kicked in on lap eight when Lavilla barged past his team-mate at Lodge allowing Bryne to follow. Byrne wasted no time in trying to take Lavilla but he held him off.

Lap eleven Lavilla left a little gap on the run thought Cascades and Byrne pounced to take the lead for three laps. After his well practiced move at Shell early in the race Lavilla put the exact same manoeuvre on Byrne to take the lead back and held it to the chequered flag, leaving a very exhausted and flu ridden Byrne in second and Haslam in a fighting third. Haydon took up fourth place whilst Harris managed to make his way up to fifth.

BSB race results (1) - Oulton Park:

1. Gregorio Lavilla
2. Shane Byrne
3. Leon Haslam
4. James Haydon
5. Karl Harris
6. Ryuichi Kiyonari
7. Tommy Hill
8. Johnny Rea
9. Michael Rutter
10. Glen Richards