Completing the podium was Chris Walker on the Rizla Suzuki making this his first podium appearance since returning to British Superbikes.

When the lights went out it was the heavily bruised Leon Haslam on the Airwaves Ducati who made a break for the front. He was followed by Walker who got a traditional Stalker start from the second row of the grid straight into second place with Rea and Kiyonari following.

Current Championship leader Gregorio Lavilla got a bad start and was down in seventh on the first lap, but he gradually started picking off the riders in front of him, his first victim was Shane Byrne on the Stobart Honda.

Related Articles

Kiyo was also on the move taking his team-mate Rea for third place and then the hunt for Walker began. Bryne's race was short lived when he crashed out on lap two at Abbey when he lost the front and slid off into the gravel.

Lap five saw Kiyo try to pass Walker at the difficult Woodcote chicane and out dragged him onto the main straight. With Haslam in his sights, Kiyo closed up on him in no time and two laps later he was into the lead and working hard to pull a gap over second place.

Haslam's injuries finally kicked in late in the race and he was passed by Walker on lap thirteen at Woodcote. A little further down the field Camier and Rea were battling with one another and closing on the front runners. Rea passed Camier but Camier took it back, they then clashed on the way into Woodcote but it was Rea who came out in front.

The bruised Haslam was to lose further places when Rea and Camier got him on lap sixteen. The young Honda riders now had the podium in sight and Rea forced his way under Walker while Camier dispensed with Lavilla. The yellow Bike Animal machine of Camier was now closing up on Walker, he tried to make his last lap move at Brooklands but Walker held it, crossing the line just 0.87secs ahead of Camier.

BSB race(1) results - Silverstone:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Johnny Rea
3. Chris Walker
4. Leon Camier
5. Gregorio Lavilla
6. Leon Haslam
7. Tom Sykes
8. Tommy Hill
9. Karl Harris
10. Michael Rutter