Leon Haslam was the only Airwaves Ducati on the podium this time round finishing in second place. Shane Byrne on the Stobart Honda battled his way to third place to get his championship back on track following a double DNF at Silverstone.

Off the line it was Tom Sykes who got the hole shot from his front row start and he was joined at the front by another young gun, Tommy Hill on the Virgin Media Optoma Loans Yamaha. Haslam wasn't letting them get away and he soon snatched second place from Sykes.

Kiyo didn't get a great start but he started to make up for it in the race by sliding under Sykes. Further down the field Karl Harris on the Hydrex Honda was getting the better of Rizla Suzuki's Chris Walker.

Related Articles

By now it was Hill from Haslam with Kiyo in third place and looking menacing. Sykes was doing a good job of fending off his team-mate Byrne while Dean Thomas on the Samsung Suzuki was running in a healthy sixth place. Unfortunately for Bomber Harris he crashed out of seventh place at Shell corner.

Lap three saw Haslam take the lead from Hill while Kiyo was getting himself out of the seat. He tried to take Hill but he closed the door on him but Kiyo continued to pester him and it paid off as he took second place from Hill.

Byrne was within spitting distance of a podium and catching Hill in his efforts he ran wide and just clipped the grass but thankfully stayed on board. Further down the pack Lavilla was flexing his muscles and passing Crutchlow. Kiyo was getting impatient sitting behind Haslam so he out braked him into Hizzy's and took the lead in tyre smoking style.

It was lap eleven before Byrne finally got Hill out of his way and took third place. By now Lavilla was in sixth place and chasing the lead pack. Cructhlow's bike was issuing a nasty blue smoke and he had to pull out of the race much to his disappointment. On lap thirteen Lavilla took Sykes and a lap later he out paced Hill. The man now on the move was Rea who had an abysmal start but was making up for it by passing Sykes and Hill on the last lap at Lodge corner to take a hard fought fifth place.

BSB race results (2) - Oulton Park:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Leon Haslam
3. Shane Byrne
4. Gregorio Lavilla
5. Johnny Rea
6. Tom Sykes
7. Tommy Hill
8. Leon Camier
9. Chris Walker
10. Dean Thomas