The final step of the podium went to Leon Haslam on the Airwaves Ducati who dropped off the back of the Honda pair as the race developed.

Ride of the day had to go to Leon Camier on the Bike Animal Honda, he started from the very back row of the grid in twenty ninth place due to missing qualifying because of a gearbox problem. By the end of lap one he was seventeenth and by lap five he was into the top ten, when the race had run full distance he was in fifth place.

When the lights went out it was Rea who got the hole shot and he was followed into Riches by Haslam and Kiyonari with Shane Byrne on the Stobart Honda chasing hard. The pole sitter Byrne had hoped for a podium finish but his race ended on lap four when his bike developed a technical problem.

Dean Thomas on the Samsung Suzuki ran on at Riches and ended up in the potato field at the end of the straight on lap seven - that was the end of his race.

The front runners of Rea, Kiyo and Haslam had settled into a rhythm but it was Gregorio Lavilla on the Airwaves Ducati battling with Tom Sykes on the remaining Stobart Honda that was catching everyone's attention. Sykes was not letting Lavilla past him and they were leaning on one another through Russells chicane and onto the main straight. Lavilla got the better of the young rider and took fourth place.

Back at the front Kiyo had passed his team-mate Rea for the lead and the two Hondas started to pull away from Haslam who admitted after the race that he was having problems with corner entry due to changes they made to his bike's set up.

Lap sixteen saw Lavilla take to the grass and drop himself down the order to sixth place behind the hard charging Camier.

Rea was hoping for a race win but was happy to assist in closing up the points gap to Lavilla in the championship standings.

Mart Nutt on the T&G/ Yamaha won the privateer's Cup and was lucky not to get tangled up with Tristan Palmer who had passed him on the last lap and then promptly high sided at the final turn sustaining an ankle injury.

BSB race results (1) - Snetterton:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Jonathan Rea
3. Leon Haslam
4. Tom Sykes
5. Leon Camier
6. Gregorio Lavilla
7. Tommy Hill
8. Cal Crutchlow
9. Chris Walker
10. Tommy Bridewell