Haslam on top, Rea out.

Pole sitter Leon Haslam has taken on Honda in their own back yard and come out on top at round eleven of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship. Ryuichi Kiyonari on the HM Plant Honda finished in second place with Stobart Honda's Tom Sykes in third.

The race got off to a dramatic start and continued in that vain, with Gregorio Lavilla making a jump start on his Airwaves Ducati. He was given a twenty second penalty but he still managed to complete the race in seventh position despite the penalty.

Off the line it was Jonathan Rea who got away first ahead of Sykes, with Haslam giving chase and Leon Camier following closely. Privateer, Marty Nutt had no luck crashing out on the opening lap. Two laps later and it was Karl Harris on the Hydrex Honda who crashed out when he lost the front at Charlies.

Haslam was on the move and dispensed with Sykes on lap four at Park corner. Camier followed Haslam's move one lap later putting himself into third place on his Bike Animal Honda. With Rea in his sights Haslam got his head down and started to catch him. During the first nine laps of the race the lap record tumbled six times. It finally landed at an all time low of 1min 26.911secs and that time was set by Camier.

Having reeled Rea in Haslam made his move on lap nine at Park corner, one lap later Camier tried to take Rea at the chicane but it all went wrong. Camier wasn't committed enough with his move and as Rea changed directions through the chicane he clipped Camier's bike and both of them went down. Rea looked furious but picked up his stricken black Honda and continued the race in tenth place.

It was now Haslam in front with a healthy lead over Sykes and Kiyonari in third place. Rea was progressing through the group and got up to eighth place when his race finally ended with a tumble at Park corner on lap fourteen. Kiyo left his move on Sykes until the penultimate lap to take second. With Rea out Kiyo now has a clear 46 points lead over his team-mate who is just 9 points ahead of Haslam

BSB race results (1) – Cadwell Park:

1. Leon Haslam
2. Ryuichi Kiyonari
3. Tom Sykes
4. Shane Byrne
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Tommy Hill
7. Gregorio Lavilla
8. Chris Walker
9. James Haydon
10. Scott Smart

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Leon Haslam (GBR), Airwaves Ducati, 999F07, 91, Superbike
Ryuichi Kiyonari (JPN), HM Plant Honda, CBR1000RR, 1, Superbike
Tom Sykes (GBR), Stobart Motorsport, Vent Axia, Honda, CBR1000RR, 66, Superbike
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.