Rutter leads the way in free practice.

Stobart Honda's Michael Rutter led the way round the new look Mallory Park circuit, setting the pace with a 56.550secs lap ahead of round six of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship.

Mallory is Rutter's home circuit and he is hoping it will be the turning point of his season. Karl Harris on the HM Plant Honda was only 0.008secs off Rutter's time and he is hungry for his first win in the Superbike class, his team-mate Ryuichi Kiyonari was third fastest. The young Japanese rider is back on form after having a few lack lustre results; he took a commanding pole position at the rained off Mondello round and will no doubt be out to do the same again this weekend at a circuit where he crashed heavily last year.

Breaking the Honda run was Leon Haslam in fourth place on the Airwaves Ducati and just 0.004secs behind Haslam was another Honda this time in Red Bull colours with Johnny Rea on board.

Top Kawasaki was Dean Thomas on the Hawk machine lapping in ninth place. His team have tested recently at Mallory so he has the benefit of knowing the new stretch of circuit. Thomas did say that he was concerned that fitting thirty superbikes through the new chicane at the start of the race could be pretty hairy. Michael Laverty and his Stobart team have also tested at Mallory and he feels the new chicane adds something to the circuit.

Top privateer James Buckingham on the Quay Garage Honda was running in an impressive fourteenth position.

BSB free practice one – Mallory Park:

1. Michael Rutter
2. Karl Harris
3. Ryuichi Kiyonari
4. Leon Haslam
5. Johnny Rea
6. Gregorio Lavilla
7. Michael Laverty
8. Shane Byrne
9. Dean Thomas
10. Glen Richards

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
michael rutter stobart motorsport honda bsb 2006 mondello park friday 19/05/06
michael rutter stobart motorsport honda bsb 2006 mondello park saturday 20/05/06
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.