Lavilla fastest in final free practice.

Gregorio Lavilla aboard his Airwaves Ducati upped the pace during final free practice at Brands Hatch ahead of the first round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship. He lapped in 1min 25.744secs beating Leon Camier into second place by 0.328secs.

Camier on his Bike Animal Honda lapped at a consistently fast pace and he did run in P1 for a large part of the session which is impressive as this is his first competitive weekend on the Superbike.

Lavilla's team-mate Leon Haslam took up third place ahead of qualifying with Stobart Honda's Shane Byrne in fourth position.

Johnny Rea on the HM Plant Honda who has been in the number one spot all weekend was relegated to fifth place while his team-mate and defending Champion Ryuichi Kiyonari was ninth.

The first of the Rizla Suzuki's home was in the hands of current Supersport Champion, Cal Crutchlow who had an off at Druids during free practice. Chris Walker on the second blue machine was running in seventh.

Michael Rutter on the Isilon MSS Discovery Kawasaki made it into the top ten in tenth place. His first day on track was riddled with technical problems which hampered the Rutter's progress.

Tommy Hill on the Virgin Media Optoma Loans Yamaha also fell during the session, crashing out at Clark curve. Dean Thomas on the Samsung Suzuki was shown the black and orange flag due to his machine smoking.

BSB free practice (3) results – Brands Hatch:

1. Gregorio Lavilla
2. Leon Camier
3. Leon Haslam
4. Shane Byrne
5. Johnny Rea
6. Cal Crutchlow
7. Chris Walker
8. Tom Sykes
9. Ryuichi Kiyonari
10. Michael Rutter

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gregorio Lavilla (ESP), Airwaves Ducati, 999F07, 36, Superbike
Leon Camier (GBR), Honda, CBR1000RR, 2, Superbike
Leon Haslam (GBR), Airwaves Ducati, 999F07, 91, Superbike
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.