Kiyo wins, Rea and Lavilla down and out.

Kiyo crossed the line on his HM Plant Honda 20.075secs ahead of second place man Shane Byrne on the Stobart Honda and the final step of the podium belonged to Rizla Suzuki's Chris Walker.

Walker said, “We are getting there with the bike; we are still a little bit off in the dry. The boys came up with a good wet set-up which we tried in warm-up and it worked. We need to keep up with these Michelin boys but the Dunlops worked great.”

Shakey admitted that he could have done with more time on his bike instead of crashing it! “It was a difficult race. I've had so little time on the bike as I keep falling off it! I didn't know what tyres to use or what settings to use. I really wanted a podium.”

The drama started early with Gregorio Lavilla crashing mid pack just moments after the race started. The following riders scattered around him to try to avoid him however it looked like someone further back in the pack ran him over. He was assisted off the track by medical staff and the Safety Car had to be deployed while his bike was removed from the circuit.

Jonathan Rea had got clean away when the lights went out and was being chased by his team-mate while Leon Haslam was in third with Walker and Karl Harris on the Hydrex Honda joining in the chase. The Safety Car retired after three laps and the race was on again. Harris took advantage of Walker as the Safety Car retired moving up to fourth place.

The crashing continued with the luckless Michael Rutter binning his Isilon MSS Discovery at Shell corner. Chris Martin also fell at Shell on the same lap. Race leader Rea had a big moment at Druids when he saved a near high side but had to run across the grass losing two places. This gifted the lead to Kiyo with Haslam second and Harris in third. Rea was quick to take the third place back from Harris and set about hounding down Haslam in second place.

Sean Emmett who was replacing his injured team-mate, Dean Thomas, crashed out of eleventh place on lap four, falling at Lodge corner. Two laps later and Rea's luck ran out, he high sided at Druids landing heavily.

This now put Harris into a podium position unfortunately he had a moment on the run through Cascades which let Walker and Tom Sykes through. Harris took Sykes straight back and began the hunt for Walker. On lap nine Sykes slipped under Harris and one lap later Harris took back his fourth place at Shell. The fight soon ended when Sykes lost the front at Druids and crashed out. Two laps later and Harris did exactly the same falling at Lodge.

Back at the sharp end, Walker was closing in on Haslam pushing hard for a second place finish. As Walker advanced Byrne also came into contention and the pair of them were all over the back of Haslam. Byrne made his move on Walker at Hizzy's chicane stealing third place. Walker wasn't settling for fourth and muscled his way under Byrne at Lodge.

On the final lap Haslam made a mistake and both Walker and Byrne got him. While he had the momentum Byrne continued and took Walker at the same time, well and truly mugging Haslam.

BSB race results (1) – Oulton Park:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Shane Byrne
3. Chris Walker
4. Leon Haslam
5. Cal Crutchlow
6. Leon Camier
7. Scott Smart
8. Tommy Hill
9. Ollie Bridewell
10. Guy Martin

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryuichi Kiyonari (JPN), HM Plant Honda, CBR1000RR, 1, Superbike
Shane Byrne (GBR), Stobart Motorsport, Vent Axia, Honda, CBR1000RR, 67, Superbike
Chris Walker (GBR), Rizla Suzuki, GSXR1000K7, 9, Superbike
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.