Oulton Park - Preview

The Bennetts British Superbike Championship returns from a brief summer break with the series' second trip of the season to Oulton Park.

After a dose of controversy to go with the ever-close racing, the previous Oulton Park round of the championship was certainly a memorable one, although it was Shane Byrne's double victory that is perhaps most notable.

Indeed, that weekend signalled Byrne's first double victory with the Airwaves Ducati team, a result that would prove to be just the tip of the iceberg as he continues his relentless charge towards the title.

Tipping over the half way point in the season, Byrne's 97 point advantage means he effectively has four races in hand over second place Cal Crutchlow, but with no intention of letting up, the advantage is certainly with him this weekend.

Indeed, his double victory at Oulton Park in May is still fresh in both his and his rivals' memories, ensuring that he will no doubt be the rider to beat once again.

Still, while Byrne's place at the top of the standings has been a constant since the season opener, there have been plenty of changes behind as the fight for podium places gets tougher and tougher.

Although Mallory Park was a washout for Leon Camier, the Snetterton winner will appreciate getting a second chance around one of his favourite circuits on an Airwaves Ducati bike he knows considerably better than he did previously.

The same can be said for Cal Crutchlow, Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes, who are the other riders who are probably closest to beating Byrne this weekend.

Of these, only Crutchlow has won a race this season. The HM Plant Honda rider moved back ahead of Camier for second in the standings at Mallory Park, but admits he needs to win this weekend if he has any chance to closing down Byrne's mammoth advantage.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
67. Shane Byrne Airwaves Ducati, Ducati 1098R F08 celebrates his win in race one
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.