SEAT continued its recent domination of qualifying in the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship after Jason Plato and Darren Turner secured a lock out of the front row at Silverstone, marking the fourth successive meeting that the diesel-powered Leons will start first and second on the grid.

Plato posted the quickest time of the day with a lap of 1min 00.327secs in a session that got slower as it progressed due to the rising temperature and oil on the circuit.

The 2001 champion ended the session a tenth of a second clear of team-mate Turner, who was one driver able to post his fastest lap later on as he slotted into place and the session proved to be one to celebrate for the Plato as, as well as having his team-mate alongside on the front row, title rival Fabrizio Giovanardi could qualify only eleventh.

Colin Turkington had looked good for a front-row start for Team RAC before being pushed back to third but he still holds a major advantage over Independents' title rival Mat Jackson after he struggled to a disappointing 14th place, Turkington will share row two with Tom Onslow-Cole, his Vectra now apparently cured of the gearbox issues to have hit his challenge earlier in the day.

Matt Neal posted the fifth quickest time, while Steven Kane was a solid sixth as Motorbase finally found some qualifying speed from its BMW 320si. Stephen Jelley was also impressive in seventh in the second Team RAC car as was Harry Vaulkhard in eight place for Robertshaw Racing. Tom Chilton and Andy Jordan rounded out the top ten.

Aside from Giovanardi and Jackson, the session proved to be on to forget for Gordon Shedden, who could manage only 15th after undergoing an engine change following the second practice session. The Scot also suffered a trip into the gravel at Brooklands while chasing a time.

For full times, CLICK HERE.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment