SEAT to pull out BTCC.

SEAT has announced that it will withdraw from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship at the end of the 2008 season and will also pull the plug on the successful SEAT Cupra Championship.

SEAT joined the BTCC grid back in 2004, winning first time out with Jason Plato in the Toledo at Thruxton, and has since gone on to establish itself as one of the most successful manufacturers in the history of the series, with 43 wins to date.

While the drivers' title proved to be elusive despite a series of strong seasons from Plato in particular, SEAT did take the manufacturers' crown back in 2006 while SEAT Sport UK took the teams' title last year.

SEAT also became the first manufacturer to enter a diesel-powered car in the BTCC this season, with Plato and Darren Turner both taking victory at the wheel of the Leon TDi. Indeed, Plato has won more races than anyone else during the current campaign and goes into the final weekend of the year at Brands Hatch with an outside chance of lifting the title.

The announcement will also bring an end to the SEAT Cupra Championship, which was first run in 2003 and has produced a number of drivers who have gone on to race in both the BTCC and WTCC – including current Chevrolet WTCC ace Rob Huff and BTCC front-runners Gordon Shedden and Mat Jackson.

"SEAT has enjoyed six very successful seasons in British Motorsport - five of them in the BTCC - and it is fair to say that through both touring cars and the SEAT Cupra Championship, the brand's image has been massively enhanced," SEAT UK head of marketing Steve Robertson said. "This is emphatically demonstrated through sales of our hot hatches - the UK is the world's biggest market for the Leon Cupra, for example, while FR and Cupra combined account for over 30 per cent of Leon sales in this country. That's way ahead of any competitor and shows just how our motorsport activities have really established the brand among enthusiastic drivers.

"Now it is time to emphasise SEAT's sporty and stylish image through other marketing activities, which will continue to enhance the brand's profile. I would like to thank all the many people that have helped us achieve so much in both the BTCC and SCC over the past few years - they can be very proud of what they have contributed. I would also like to thank, on behalf of everyone at SEAT UK and SEAT Sport UK, the many fans who have followed our progress over these past few years. Your support is hugely appreciated."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jason Plato (GBR) - SEAT Sport UK SEAT Leon TDI
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

KU - Unregistered

September 11, 2008 3:50 PM

Its a shame to see them go, whatever people think of the TDI's they were a welcome manufacturer on the grid and they did add an interesting extra factor into the races. The loss of any of the larger teams from the BTCC is a shame, however we are lucky we have some fantastic non-manufacturer teams like WSR, GR Asia, M-Sport and Halfords who more than make up for the lack of manufacturers. I wonder what Jason will do for next year, as if he wants to remain in the BTCC I take it he will have to go to an independent team, or see if he is offered a place in WTCC.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.