Dennis pays tribute to SEAT squad.

SEAT UK motorsport manager Scott Dennis has paid tribute to his team following the announcement that SEAT is to withdraw from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship at the end of the season.

Having joined the grid in 2004, SEAT soon established itself as a front-runner in the BTCC with a win of its debut being the first of 43 to date in the series – with drivers such as Jason Plato, Darren Turner, James Thompson and Rob Huff all taking victory in SEAT colours.

Plato and Turner have both played a part this year in SEAT creating history with the first ever diesel entry by a manufacturer, with the pair taking ten wins between them so far with only the season finale at Brands Hatch still to run.

The team has secured both the manufacturers' and teams' titles during its time in the BTCC, and while the drivers' crown proved to elusive, Dennis said the manufacturer had made its mark on the series during the past five years – and in the six years of competition in the SEAT Cupra Championship.

“There's no doubting that SEAT and SEAT Sport UK have made a huge impact on the British motorsport scene,” he said. “The SCC has proved to be a fantastic breeding ground for genuine talent - drivers that have gone on to participate at the highest level of touring car racing. We've made a big impression on the BTCC too, during our five seasons. Our roll call of drivers - Rob Huff, James Thompson, Luke Hines, James Pickford and Tom Coronel, as well as current duo Darren Turner and Jason Plato - have helped secure the 2006 Manufacturers' Trophy, the 2007 Teams' Trophy, as well as the first ever win for a diesel car in the 50-year history of the Championship with this year's Leon TDI.

“Of course, the SEAT Sport UK team has been essential in securing these successes, and I'd like to extend a huge thank you to everyone who has contributed. In particular I'd like to thank Grant Clearwater and Ian Fisher [team principals of Northern South] for their unwavering professionalism throughout our relationship with them.

“I'd also like to thank Jason and Darren for their commitment to SEAT Sport UK. Jason in particular has been a consistent strength of the team from our first season in 2004, as well as a front runner in both this and last year's season. Like all of the other SEAT BTCC drivers, he and Darren have also been great brand ambassadors.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
SEAT UK motorsport manager Scott Dennis
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.