Gow disappointed as SEAT go.

Alan Gow has paid tribute to SEAT, despite admitting his disappointment as the news that the Spanish manufacturer is to cease its involvement in the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship at the end of the year.

Having joined the BTCC grid back in 2004, SEAT will bring the curtain down on its BTCC programme following Finals Day at Brands Hatch while the BTCC-supporting SEAT Cupra Championship will also come to an end after six years.

It leaves leading drivers Jason Plato and Darren Turner both seeking drives elsewhere for the 2009 campaign and also leaves the BTCC with just one manufacturer – although paddock rumours suggest that Vauxhall could be joined by a new rival for the new season.

Although he admitted that it was disappointing to lose one of the leading teams from the series, Gow was quick to point out that he respected the decision taken by SEAT UK and said they had played a valuable part in the success of the BTCC in recent years.

"Obviously it's disappointing, but I fully respect SEAT's decision - times change and every company's programmes and/or priorities change with them," Gow reflected. "SEAT's decision to withdraw from not only the BTCC but also the Cupra Championship underlines the fact that it has decided that motor sport (in general) does not form part of its future plans, for now.

"Any motor manufacturer that chooses to go motor racing does so as part of a major focused marketing strategy. SEAT has clearly fulfilled its aims by participating in the BTCC and I'm very proud to note that, in its own words, SEAT's brand image has been 'massively enhanced' by doing so - thus firmly endorsing the great benefit that participating in the BTCC has been to it.

"SEAT has been a fabulous competitor in the BTCC during these past five years and our many millions of fans, whether trackside or watching live on TV, will miss its team, drivers and cars. We sincerely wish it well for the future."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alan Gow
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.