Top ten BTCC drivers: Ninth place.

After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to start the count-down to the driver you voted the top star of 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November.

More than 7,000 votes were cast on the BTCC poll, with each drivers average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BTCC Driver of the Year – Ninth place:

Name: Gordon Shedden
Team: Team Halfords
Car: Honda Civic (S2000)
Wins: 2
Podiums: 2
Fastest laps: 1
Championship points: 144
Championship position: 7th

For Gordon Shedden, the 2008 BTCC turned season out to be a tough one as he was unable to launch the title challenge that had been widely expected at the start of the year.

While the Scot took two wins during the year – including an emotional victory at Rockingham which was dedicated to the late David Leslie – he was unable to make the most of the undoubted pace of the Team Halfords Honda Civic.

Indeed, aside from his wins, Shedden managed just two more podium finishes over the season and seventh in the standings was scant reward for his pace.

On more than one occasion, Shedden found himself in the wrong place at the wrong time but will hope that in 2009, he is able to fight for the championship crown.

"It's been a frustrating year for me but hopefully I get the chance to come back again in 2009 and finish right up towards the head of the field – I preferred it last year when I finished third!" he said. "There is a lot that has gone on this season and you have to take the ups and the downs. I haven't had much luck this season but don't they say seven is a lucky number? It could be an omen for next year!"

Tomorrow: Who did you vote eighth in the Driver of the Year poll?

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gordon Shedden - Team Halfords Honda Civic
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.