Top ten BTCC drivers: Eighth place.

After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to start the count-down to the driver you voted the top star of 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November.

More than 7,000 votes were cast on the BTCC poll, with each drivers average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BTCC Driver of the Year – Eighth place:

Name: Adam Jones
Team: Team Aircool
Car: SEAT Leon (S2000)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 5
Fastest laps: 0
Championship points: 119
Championship position: 9th

In 2007, Adam Jones showed his potential as a touring car driver in the Team Aircool SEAT Toledo – despite only running a part-campaign in the car.

For 2008, the Toledo was replaced by a Leon although the new car hadn't turned a wheel before Jones headed out onto the track at Brands Hatch for the opening rounds of the season.

While the opening weekend of the year yielded just two tenth place finishes, it wasn't long before the former GT racer was right on the pace and he took the first of five podium finishes during the second meeting of the year at Rockingham. Further podiums would follow at Croft, Oulton Park and Silverstone – where he took a double.

Indeed, Jones had only failed to score on four occasions before Finals Day at Brands Hatch where he unfortunately failed to add to his tally.

It was in the Independents' Trophy standings where Jones really shone, taking five Indy to remain in contention for the title until the final rounds before eventually finishing third behind Colin Turkington and Mat Jackson.

Having marked himself as one to watch once again during 2008, Jones will now look to get a package in place to fight for race wins in 2009.

"I've had an incredible season and am pleased to have finished in third place and would like to thank the team and all our sponsors for their help and support," he said. "It's been a tough season with some very close racing and I didn't expect to have finished as high as I have as the competition was extremely fierce."

Tomorrow: Who did you vote seventh in the Driver of the Year poll?

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Adam Jones - Team Aircool SEAT Leon
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.