Top ten BTCC drivers: Seventh place.

After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to start the count-down to the driver you voted the top star of 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November.

More than 7,000 votes were cast on the BTCC poll, with each drivers average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BTCC Driver of the Year – Seventh place:

Name: Steven Kane
Team: Motorbase Performance
Car: BMW 320si (S2000)
Wins: 0
Podiums: 3
Fastest laps: 2
Championship points: 86
Championship position: 11th

There is little doubt that Steven Kane was one of the stars of the 2008 HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship as he made the step up from the Porsche Carrera Cup.

From the opening round of the year, the Northern Irishman showed his pace at the wheel of the BMW 320si although below par performances in qualifying and bad luck meant that the first half of the season didn't go to plan.

However, when racing resumed at Snetterton following the summer break, Kane – and the entire Motorbase team for that matter – were a different proposition and he duly secured a maiden podium finish in the third race in Norfolk.

Another good weekend at Oulton Park was spoiled by an accident in race three and Kane then endured trying times at Knockhill and Silverstone before rebounding in style on Finals Day with second place finishes in two of the three races.

Through the second half of the season, Kane and Motorbase became one of the teams to beat and team boss David Bartrum has already said he would be keen to keep the driver on board for 2009.

“We've had our ups and downs this year, but it has all come good in the second half of the season,” Kane admitted. “I want to thank everyone in the team and especially David Bartrum, he has really put his heart and soul into this team and it's great to race knowing you have so much support.

“If it all goes well in the close season and we come back able to compete financially with the other teams then we will be even stronger next year. I've loved my first season in the BTCC and this is where I want to be. We didn't quite manage a win but I will definitely want to put that right next season."

BTCC Driver of the year – Top ten:

8. Adam Jones Team Aircool
9. Gordon Shedden Team Halfords
10. Mike Jordan John Guest Racing

Tomorrow: Who did you vote sixth in the Driver of the Year poll?

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Steven Kane (GBR)- Motorbase Performance BMW 320si E90
Ashley Sutton - Subaru Team BMR [pic credit BTCC]
Jack Goff, Eurotech Racing, [Credit: BTCC media]
Matt Simpson, Team Dynamics, [Credit: BTCC Media]
Rob Austin, Handy Motorsport [Credit: Handy Motorsport]
Andrew Jordan, WSR Pirtek BMW [Credit:Jakob Ebrey]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Halfords Yuasa Racing [Credit: Halfords Yuasa]
Ant Whorton-Eales,, BTCC [Credit:]
Mat Jackson, Motorbase Performance, Shredded Wheat [Credit: Motorbase]
Senna Proctor, Power Maxed Racing, BTCC [Credit: BTCC media]
WSR BMW  - Gardx / JCT 600 teams champions

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.