Jason Plato has been named as the winner of the final HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Brands Hatch after initial winner Jonathan Adam was hit with a post race penalty by race officials.

Adam had crossed the line in first place to cap a fine weekend for the Airwaves BMW team, which had earlier secured its maiden win in the second race of the weekend thanks to Rob Collard.

However, Adam was deemed to have unfairly knocked Plato out of the lead on the second lap of race three, when he made heavy contact with the rear of the 2001 champions Chevrolet Lacetti turning into Paddock Hill Bend.

The move saw Adam take a lead he would retain for the remainder of the race, eventually coming home 3.845 second clear of Plato, who held off the challenge of Matt Neal through the final stages to secure second.

After looking at the incident in more detail following the race, officials elected to hand Adam a four second penalty, which drops him behind Plato in the results and hands the former SEAT man a win on his first weekend with the RML team.

The penalty also means Plato now holds fourth place in the championship standings with Adam dropping to fifth - the pair having previously shared fourth place after the initial result.

The Motorbase-run Airwaves team will not appeal the penalty.

To view the amended results, Click Here.